• Upcoming trips

    Feb 3 - Feb 13 Caribbean cruise
  • theatre and Concerrts

    November 30. Susan, Christine and I saw two of three new Italian plays at the Cherry Lane theatre. I actually thought I had booked the third offer which was a Pirandello revival but we were all glad that we did not miss “The Journey I Never made” and “Story of Love and Soccer”. Both excellently translated and powerfully acted. The first is a thought provoking and somewhat unsettling portrayal of the current social turmoil and the second is modern thriller about corrupt sport and the triumph of evil over good. We were able to chat with one of the actors about the plays after the show. Before the show we ate lobster and oysters at the  “Fish” restaurant which was only two blocks from the theatre!

     

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 49 other followers

  • Follow Thompson's Travels on WordPress.com

Art – Latest watercolor

Here is my latest watercolor sketch. It is entitled “Venus Fly Trap”.  The winged-like flowers are well known to orchid cultivators as  a variety of Paphiopedilum according to my friend David who is an orchid grower himself. He also says that they have no link whatsoever with the real Venus Fly Trap. (12″ x 16″ on Arches paper)

7 Responses

  1. I have a paphiopedilum orchid. They are also called Lady-slipper orchids

    • Thank you. I based my title on the memory of the Venus Fly trap flowers that grew in a wild part of my old garden. And the myth of their voracious appetite for the unsuspecting insects who succumbed to their tempting ways. But David is my consulting authority on such matters.

  2. Actually,all 5 genera of this type of orchid are nicknamed the lady slipper orchids.

  3. I’ve always thought paphiopedilum orchids (lady-slippers) were a bit like pansies in that they almost appear to have a human face. They are a bit magical. I take many reference photographs of them at a local conservatory I visit several times a year. I am working a few into a watercolor painting now.

    • By coincidence, This month’s Smithsonian includes an article entitled: ‘The Venus Flytrap’s Lethal Allure’. Upon reading it, I realized that my memory has played me tricks once more. The snapping plant described in the article is nothing like the one that grew in my old garden! Rather, the plant I remember sported a largish green pouch half filled with a sticky liquid which, I somehow became informed, trapped unfortunate flies and so was named a Venus Fly Trap. It was probably one of your “Lady Slippers”?

      • It definitely sounds like a carnivorous plant. I don’t thing lady slippers are carnivorous, but I could be wrong.

  4. Kakakatydid: It seems as though the orchid you are alluding to is the miltoniopsis, previously known as Miltonia. Sadly they do not grow well at here in Florida because they truly do resemble pansies.
    Yes you are right, orchids are not carnivorous. Although the pouches can have a mixture of nectar and water. The better to trap the pollinator.

Leave a Reply

