• Upcoming trips

    September 7 to 15 Tony and Jo will visit us from the UK

    13-23 January, 2018 Cruise out of New York around the Caribbean on the Norwegian Gem

  • theatre and Concerrts

    July 1  Saw “Napoli, Brooklyn” by Meghan Kennedy at the Laura Pels Theatre. It is based upon a real-life disaster, the surprise staging of which, is mind shattering! However, the story line has a surfeit of themes added; religious brain-washing, the effect of a bullying husband and father and lesbian freedom. None of these is fully convincing in spite of the excellent acting of the cast.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 50 other followers

  • Follow Thompson's Travels on WordPress.com

London and a Ruby Wedding Anniversary (Part 1)

Following the “best possible” outcome of my surgery, grandson Kiowa treated me to a whirlwind  5-day trip to London by way of celebration. He arranged it cover the period of a family reunion being organised by my niece Linda. Linda had sent me an invitation several months earlier but, with the prospect of serious surgery and its possible aftermath, I was sure at that time that I would not be in a condition  to make the journey.

As it turned out, Kiowa and I had a wonderful grandson/grandfather experience. He was able to meet up with many members of the Thompson family, some visiting from Australia, that he had never seen before, and I renewed family memories spanning more than seventy years!

There was an added bonus–Linda had arranged the reunion to celebrate the Ruby wedding anniversary of my nephew Allan (Brother Les’s oldest offspring) and wife Marie. They were the guests of honour from Australia. The  medical turmoil of the preceding months had completely driven this anniversary from my mind so, I’m afraid, we arrived without even a bottle for a gift.

The celebration was held in Upminster, a fair way out of London in Essex, where many of the Thompson Clan still have roots. Niece, Gillian, picked us up from the railway station and, after Alan’s speech and the cake-cutting, drove us further out to the home of my sister-in-law, Brenda. I reminisced with Brenda over a cup of tea, both of us happy to refresh memories of our late spouses. Kiowa chatted away happily with Brenda’s daughter, Stepanie, and her husband Bob. I would have liked to have seen Brenda’s other daughter, Leslie, but she was out of town.

In addition to all this, Kiowa and I got in two plays and Il Tritico at Covent Garden, several new pubs and a new fish restaurant where the sea food is fresh and on display as you walk in. A small disappoinment was that the only opportunity to see a performance at the Globe theatre happened to coincide with the reunion.

The photographs are intended to be viewed full-screen. Click on them.

Kiowa in Leicester Square

Kiowa at the Bar in Fleet street

St. Paul's from the river side

The 'Cheshire Cheese' just off Fleet Street

Fleet Street with all the newspaper offices moved elsewhere

The "Globe" theatre from the north bank

Tower bridge from the riverside walk

Gillian (centre) and her daughter, Debbie in the Portrit Gallery cafe. It was Debbie who had her flight home cancelled as a result of hurricane Irene and was forced to camp out on my sofa with her friend Nichola.

At Tower Hill on our way to Fenchurch Street railway satation

Tower Hill

From The Bloody Tower?

Refreshment in the railway station

New architecture

Harrods in Knightsbridge was a must

One of many lunches

5 Responses

  1. What a wonderful trip! You look healthy and happy, Ben. Love, Valerie

    • Valerie. It was very satisfying for me to have a grandson look to me as a travelling friend–even though I needed his help much of the way.Strange is the thought that roles reverse themselves over the passing years? Thanks for the message, Ben

  2. Hi Ben

    with was lovely to see you again last week, and looking so well ! I have sent you a couple of photos from the reunion but I am not sure if I have sent them to the correct address, let me know if you don’t receive them.
    Regards
    Margaret

    • Margaret. Thank you for the photos. They nicely fill in some of the family I missed recording myself. Forgive my memory, but I think the young man on your right is Linda’s Paul and his new bride’s name escapes me altogether–Would you mind e-mailing me so that I don’t embarass myself when I post them? Love, Ben

      • Ben, I am so glad that you received the photos ok. The young man on my right is my son Ian and his 5 months pregnant partner Lorraine. Several people have commented that he looks like Paul, must be the Thompson genes. It is nice to have a photo of the six of us together, I will be sending some pictures over to Eileen and Les for her rogues gallery !
        love Margaret

Leave a Reply

