• Upcoming trips

    Feb 3 - Feb 13 Caribbean cruise
  • theatre and Concerrts

    November 30. Susan, Christine and I saw two of three new Italian plays at the Cherry Lane theatre. I actually thought I had booked the third offer which was a Pirandello revival but we were all glad that we did not miss “The Journey I Never made” and “Story of Love and Soccer”. Both excellently translated and powerfully acted. The first is a thought provoking and somewhat unsettling portrayal of the current social turmoil and the second is modern thriller about corrupt sport and the triumph of evil over good. We were able to chat with one of the actors about the plays after the show. Before the show we ate lobster and oysters at the  “Fish” restaurant which was only two blocks from the theatre!

     

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 49 other followers

  • Follow Thompson's Travels on WordPress.com

Macy’s Parade (part1)

Central Park was in glorious mood as I walked across to the west side at about eight o’clock on Thanksgiving morning. The long shadows of the rising sun made beautiful subjects and I was tempted to hang around to record the best of them. But, I was on my way to get pictures of the Macy balloons and I wanted to get to a strategic spot on Central Park West near 79th Street. As it happened, some one million people got there before me and best I could do was to stand on a wall 50 yards back from the front of the crowd. The wall, itself, quickly became populated with all manner of  impatient humanity and one lady even propped her dog upon it at my feet so that he could  enjoy the passing pageant. I girded my 300 mm lens and stood my ground for nearly two hours.

As you will see from the pictures, every one was shot from the same location. I tried to take advantage of the action that crossed my limited view. As each balloon figure came by, all the childen called out it’s name and went into ecstacies over it. It came to me that this was the essence of the parade’s popularity–although I knew none of them, the characters were part and parcel of the lives of modern children of all ages. This encouraged me to stay until the end of the parade to make sure that I got pictures of them all.

So, this post will have to be in two parts to accommodate the 40 plus shots. I hope you enjoy–don’t forget to click on each picture to see it full-screen. I deliberately did not crop most in order to facilitate this.

Dressed for Thanksgiving

The first in line

Float figures

Spiderman is the only character I recognised from my day!

They're off!

Seen through the tree in front of my position

Mount Rushmore on Central Park West

Macy's locomotive

. . . . . . Its passengers

Feet to scale

Mad Hatter

The rest of the Harbour Lady went by Subway

 To be continued.

2 Responses

  1. Beautiful photos on a lovely day! Thanks for sharing these!! Hope you and Ethel had a wonderful Thanksgiving. Love to you and Ethel.

    • Thanks, Valerie. We went to the Irish Pub and ordered two helpings of Bangers and Mash for our Thanksgiving. Loverly! Love, Ben

Leave a Reply

