• Upcoming trips

    September 7 to 15 Tony and Jo will visit us from the UK

    13-23 January, 2018 Cruise out of New York around the Caribbean on the Norwegian Gem

  • theatre and Concerrts

    July 1  Saw “Napoli, Brooklyn” by Meghan Kennedy at the Laura Pels Theatre. It is based upon a real-life disaster, the surprise staging of which, is mind shattering! However, the story line has a surfeit of themes added; religious brain-washing, the effect of a bullying husband and father and lesbian freedom. None of these is fully convincing in spite of the excellent acting of the cast.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 50 other followers

  • Follow Thompson's Travels on WordPress.com

St. Patrick’s Day Parade–Expressions

Based on last year’s intelligence, I set off an hour beforehand and found a strategic spot next to the rail on the south-east corner of Fifth Avenue and 79th Street where I knew the parade would turn into my patch of early sunlight in order to dissipate further along the street. The serious flaw in this logic hit me an hour later when the leaders of the parade marched straight past and I was able to see only  their backs as they went by. A change of rules; the Grand Marshall (gloating picture below) had most of the parade dissipating on 83rd Street this year. I was now thoroughly hemmed in, so, a rapid change of plans; instead of photographing the marchers, I buckled on my 300mm lens and decided to post the interesting expressions of the walking  parade members and  onlookers around me.

I caught a glimpse of Mayor Bloomberg among his aids and security detail and of Senator Chuck Schumer who was a free spirit and  enjoying the photo op. Many of the faces will be familiar to New Yorkers but I am afraid that I am not well up enough in City  affairs to put names to them myself.  Click on the individual pictures for the greatest detail

Grand Marshall

Soldier's make-up

The resentful expression of this parade-goer was the result of a hefty passer-by stamping on his foot

Faultless genes hand down the fair locks

Hats to match the instruments

Speaking duel at ten paces

Reminds me of a character in a period film?

His Honor, Mayor Bloomberg is in there somewhere

And here is Senator Schumer

About to get his man!

How much further?

I can understand the expression of the boy in the second row looking at (his mother's) dress code

One size fits all

Sombre dress

There was a great deal more green this year. After Halloween, this parade is becoming a second costume event

And now to the dance. . . .

Stand and deliver!

Brass hats

Top Brass

And, finally,  after the parade, marchers and onlookers alike start the evening’s revelling as soon as possible:

Call to the revels

3 Responses

  1. Ben,
    I just got through with my income tax return and your series of St Patrick’s Day Parade changed my mood 180 degrees. I laughed long at some of the expressions. Looks like the cop facing Senator Schumer is a Republican. The happy and sour looks cover the wide expanse humanity, I say it is the best set of parade pictures I have ever seen. Thanks for posting them.
    John

    • John and Ann. So glad you enjoyed the pictures. I had a wonderful time choosing the best ones to post. I only wish I could have put a name to some of the official faces–I am quite sure they are well known to people who keep up with the politics of NY City. Ben and Ethel

  2. I agree with John and Ann! Enjoyed these photos and the expressions! Thanks for sharing these. Love, Valerie

Leave a Reply

