• Upcoming trips

    September 7 to 15 Tony and Jo will visit us from the UK

    13-23 January, 2018 Cruise out of New York around the Caribbean on the Norwegian Gem

  • theatre and Concerrts

    July 1  Saw “Napoli, Brooklyn” by Meghan Kennedy at the Laura Pels Theatre. It is based upon a real-life disaster, the surprise staging of which, is mind shattering! However, the story line has a surfeit of themes added; religious brain-washing, the effect of a bullying husband and father and lesbian freedom. None of these is fully convincing in spite of the excellent acting of the cast.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 50 other followers

  • Follow Thompson's Travels on WordPress.com

“How to Electrocute Horses, for Dummies”

You have heard the adage “What you can’t see, can’t hurt you”?  Ignore it. It’s complete nonsense! We were spending a long weekend  with Susan and Craig down in York, PA.  Daughter, Susan, took me to see the immaculate stables where her horse, ‘Playdough’ is  now being cared for. Playdough and his stable mates had already been put out into  the paddock for the night because of the  hot weather, so Susan, armed with a bag of carrots,  and I, armed with my camera, strolled over to the fence surrounding it to greet her latest love. She warned me that the fence was electrified but since I rested my arms on the top strand to take pictures without any other contact, I felt safe. After the picture-taking, I thought I might ingratiate myself by offering Playdough a carrot myself.  As soon as his wet tongue touched the carrot, a great shudder shot through my arm and young Playdough sprang into the air, all four feet off the ground,  then galloped away!

Susan tried to entice him back with another carrot but he was too cautious to be bitten twice in one day. Not to be outdone, I raised my arms way above the fence and offered the largest horse in the group a carrot. Without my being aware,  however, my camera was touching a part the fence lower down and the same thing happened again!

Young Playdough

. . . . . . going . . . . .

. . . . .delicious!

After the carrot shock we were both conditioned. Playdough went back to munching safe grass and I only rested my camera on the wooden fence posts

Resident of Susan’s lily pond

Resident flower pot

Daughter Susan (wearing hat), granddaughter Amy, and great-grandddauhter Zoe. Probably discussing the up-coming wedding arrangements of Amy to her fiance, Jeremy on the 28th August.

Leave a Reply

