• Upcoming trips

    September 7 to 15 Tony and Jo will visit us from the UK

    13-23 January, 2018 Cruise out of New York around the Caribbean on the Norwegian Gem

    October 31st - 11 November Caribbean cruise to break up the winter.
  • theatre and Concerrts

    August 2  I lined up on the geriatrics bench to get tickets for Christine and me at the Delacorte Theatre in Central Park last week. I set out early and reached the bench  before 9.30 in the morning thinking that I would be among the first–I did not want a repeat of the great disappointment of the previous week when the last ticket to be given out at noon went to the man immediately in front of Susan and myself! But I was wrong again; the bench was already two thirds full of aggressive oldies and I was once again on tenterhooks until the noon distribution. I was joined by Christine’s friend, Barbara, who , with her husband, were to make a foursome for the event. Both couples brought a bottle of wine to enhance the evening.

    And what an evening it was! Shakespeare’s “A Midsummer Nights Dream” has never been done better in my view. Absolutely suited to the outdoor theatre. The set included a fairy forest with changing colored lights which added mystery to the actors who passed in and out of it. The cast included a nightclub singer. The costumes, not confined to one era, included a modern suit and gown.

    The mechanicals were a child’s delight. Part fairy tale, part pantomime the action was played at a spanking pace and was continuously amusing. What is more, Shakespeare’s words came across wonderfully well.

             

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 50 other followers

  • Follow Thompson's Travels on WordPress.com

London – Reunion 2014

It will take several posts to cover all the all the aspects of our action-packed stay in London this year. It was Christine’s first in-depth visit to London and it gave me the greatest of pleasure to tour-guide her around the haunts I know and enjoy so much.  Her natural exuberance hoovered up every new experience and it was a joy to introduce her to the family–When not catching up with the family, we filled every moment with play-going, gallery visits and pub-crawling. We walked for miles; far more than I had done for years! Ethel’s ghost followed me everywhere, though.

This post, then, will concern itself only with the reunion of the Thompson and Hobbs family members which has become an essential feature of my annual visit to London. As usual, I owe all the planning and faultless operation to my niece Gillian and cannot thank her enough for taking on the task.

This year, Gillian arranged for the reunion lunch to be held in the National  Art Gallery restaurant. From its third-floor windows we could see across Trafalgar Square  to Westminster and the London Eye beyond, as we ate! After lunch, on the advice of Kelly, we all repaired to the Albanach Bar across the square for a quiet after-dinner conversation. Kelly treated me to a vintage whiskey-which I savoured long and lovingly. When the time came to break up the party, Ryan led the diehards off to an Indian restaurant in Brick Lane. Christine joined this group and I went back to the hotel to sleep.

Thank-you everyone for the good wishes, birthday cards and drinks! Click on the pictures for detail:

Gillian provided this family tree so that we could see how we were relted

Gillian provided this family tree so that we could see how we were related.

Dramatis Personae

Alan

Alan

 

Denise

Denise

 

Terry

Terry

 

Ian

Ian

 

Pam

Pam

 

Jo

Jo

 

Jo and Tony

Jo and Tony

 

Holly

Holly

 

Ryan

Ryan

 

Collin

Collin

 

Wendy

Wendy

 

Ken

Ken

 

Holly again

Holly again

 

Christine

Christine

 

Penny and Dennis

Penny and Dennis

 

Ryan and Holly absorbed

Ryan and Holly absorbed

 

Kelly led us to the Albanach Bar

Kelly led us to the Albanach Bar

 

Christine and me

Christine and me

 

Jo and Gillian

Jo and Gillian

 

Penny and Tony

Penny and Tony

 

Ken and Dennis

Ken and Dennis

 

Collin, Christine and me

Collin, Christine and me

 

Wendy

Wendy

 

Keith and Kelly

Keith and Kelly

 

Terry and Keith with illuminated deer

Terry and Keith with illuminated deer

 

Kelly and Holly

Kelly and Holly

 

Linda and Terry

Linda and Terry

 

Holly and Collin

Holly and Collin

 

Kelly, me and Gillian

Kelly, me and Gillian

 

Tony, me and Jo

Tony, me and Jo

 

Me and Keith

Me and Keith

 

Terry, me and Linda

Terry, me and Linda

 

That is all for this post. I will follow up with posts covering the sightseeing part of our trip—Stay tuned!

 

 

Leave a Reply

