• Upcoming trips

    September 7 to 15 Tony and Jo will visit us from the UK

    13-23 January, 2018 Cruise out of New York around the Caribbean on the Norwegian Gem

  • theatre and Concerrts

    July 1  Saw “Napoli, Brooklyn” by Meghan Kennedy at the Laura Pels Theatre. It is based upon a real-life disaster, the surprise staging of which, is mind shattering! However, the story line has a surfeit of themes added; religious brain-washing, the effect of a bullying husband and father and lesbian freedom. None of these is fully convincing in spite of the excellent acting of the cast.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 50 other followers

  • Follow Thompson's Travels on WordPress.com

New York Day (with sketches)

These glorious summer days have afforded us more picnic time in Central Park than I can ever remember. Rarely have I had to wear jeans; my shorts are all getting frayed round the edges from the constant washing of the wine-splattered  denim! They have been de rigueur throughout the long days, even in the very late hours when we have returned from Shakespeare in the Park,  for example.

A change from previous  ‘New York Days ‘ is that I have transferred my allegiance from the Turtle Pond and its backdrop of the purpose-built watercolour subject (The Belvedere Castle), to the Harlem Meer; largely because my lungs  increasingly object to my walking uphill with the weight of  my painting equipment!

I now take the 96th Street crosstown bus to Fifth Avenue and walk north, on the flat, a few blocks to the Meer. From my painting vantage point at the south end of the Meer I can listen across the water to the Rock bands on Sundays at such a distance that the music falls pleasantly upon the ear and the vibrations of the ear-shattering drums is reduced to a tolerable rhythm.

The mood of the scene from my painting place varies, of course, with the weather, season and time of day: Here is a favorite view:

Click on the images for detail

 

A view from my painting rock

A view from my painting rock  . . . . .

Me absorbed in painting an element of it.

. . . . . .   me absorbed in painting an element of it. Picture, courtesy a gracious visitor, Samil Kavranglu (formerly from Istanbul). . . . . .

 . . . the result of the intense creativity-- my rendering of the Dana Discovery Center1

. . . the result of the intense creativity– my rendering of the Dana Discovery Center

We have been to see Shakespeare in the Park at the Delacourt Theatre three times so far. Obtaining free tickets entails our joining the Seniors bench in time for the noon lottery. People arriving after the bench is fully occupied have little or no chance of a ticket for the day’s performance.

Christine says she is standing in for me?

Christine says she is standing in for me?

Christine works in the 86th Street branch of Fox’s Ladies Wear. She invited the branch manager, her boss (also called Christine!), to supper one night. Here she is on the balcony during a very enjoyable visit:

Christine of Fox's!

Christine of Fox’s!

A propos  none of the above, here is a watercolour which has little merit or meaning as far as its creator can determine! But, its weirdness is of interest perhaps?

"Out of Africa"

“Out of Africa”

Leave a Reply

