• Upcoming trips

    Feb 3 - Feb 13 Caribbean cruise
  • theatre and Concerrts

    November 30. Susan, Christine and I saw two of three new Italian plays at the Cherry Lane theatre. I actually thought I had booked the third offer which was a Pirandello revival but we were all glad that we did not miss “The Journey I Never made” and “Story of Love and Soccer”. Both excellently translated and powerfully acted. The first is a thought provoking and somewhat unsettling portrayal of the current social turmoil and the second is modern thriller about corrupt sport and the triumph of evil over good. We were able to chat with one of the actors about the plays after the show. Before the show we ate lobster and oysters at the  “Fish” restaurant which was only two blocks from the theatre!

     

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 49 other followers

  • Follow Thompson's Travels on WordPress.com

Humming Bird refuels in flight

While I was staying at Luba’s house in Philadelphia, I relaxed for some time on her back patio keeping an eye out for the fauna which reputedly make use of the garden. She has a resident fox and  two resident wood chucks. Deer pass through from time to time too. Unluckily, none of these appeared while I was sitting in the comfortable patio chair, a-watching. However, I did see several visits from a humming bird sporting a plumage of grey and white feathers which I don’t think I’ve seen before. I managed with patience to take these shots of him refueling:

. . . approach . . . .

 

. . . alignment . . . .

 

. . . HOOK UP!   . . . . .

 

These proceedings were observed with a critical eye by a Cardinal from a nearby feeder:

 

. . . . Judge!

END OF POST

 

3 Responses

  1. I have yet to see a humming bird take advantage of the feeder I have provided. Maybe I should post your photo near the feeder as inspiration.

    • Amy. You need lots of spare time and patience to see them – they’re in and out in a flash. Perhaps you should add a little alcohol to the feeder mix? — Well! It did wonders for me!

  2. That was very pleasant to view of your photos. Thanks for sharing. Nereida

Leave a Reply

