• Upcoming trips

    September 7 to 15 Tony and Jo will visit us from the UK

    13-23 January, 2018 Cruise out of New York around the Caribbean on the Norwegian Gem

  • theatre and Concerrts

    August 2  I lined up on the geriatrics bench to get tickets for Christine and me at the Delacorte Theatre in Central Park last week. I set out early and reached the bench  before 9.30 in the morning thinking that I would be among the first–I did not want a repeat of the great disappointment of the previous week when the last ticket to be given out at noon went to the man immediately in front of Susan and myself! But I was wrong again; the bench was already two thirds full of aggressive oldies and I was once again on tenterhooks until the noon distribution. I was joined by Christine’s friend, Barbara, who , with her husband, were to make a foursome for the event. Both couples brought a bottle of wine to enhance the evening.

    And what an evening it was! Shakespeare’s “A Midsummer Nights Dream” has never been done better in my view. Absolutely suited to the outdoor theatre. The set included a fairy forest with changing colored lights which added mystery to the actors who passed in and out of it. The cast included a nightclub singer. The costumes, not confined to one era, included a modern suit and gown.

    The mechanicals were a child’s delight. Part fairy tale, part pantomime the action was played at a spanking pace and was continuously amusing. What is more, Shakespeare’s words came across wonderfully well.

             

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 50 other followers

  • Follow Thompson's Travels on WordPress.com

Susan does windows – 400 feet up!

As part of my ongoing campaign to re-sanitize my apartment, Susan came to do the preparation needed before the furniture-moving crew could do its job. This entailed taking out, and safe-guarding, all the myriad books, drinking glasses and knick-knacks I had accumulated over the years, from shelves and cupboards. It also inspired her to wash the curtains (three times) and clean the windows.

Four days later when the finish on my, now pristine, wood-floor had properly hardened, Susan returned with Craig to attack the heavy layer of sanding dust that filled every cranny and covered everything but the floor itself. This, they did with great gusto. I could never have managed it  myself and counted my lucky stars that I have such caring daughters. Craig did a meticulous job on the glass doors and shelves and also sanded a small piece of the floor which had been inadvertently  covered by furniture. Great thanks to them both.

Here are a few pictures of Susan at work:

Window-cleaner at work . . . .

 

. . . . .

 

. . . .

 

Window-cleaner observer – Hand knitted by the window-cleaner herself!

 

END OF POST

 

One Response

  1. Lucky you that you had great helpers.. that lamb how much help did it do? I’ll see you next week to see your pristine abode!! Love Nereida

Leave a Reply

